Tag Archives: album review

Review: Kendrick Lamar’s ‘Untitled Unmastered’

Clark Herring – Special to the Southern News Eerie, ominous, soulful, rocking, and rapping, all characteristics that define Kendrick Lamar’s newest work, “Untitled Unmastered.” The album, which is available for streaming on Spotify, is a collection of songs the rapper worked on during the process of creating his grammy nominated masterpiece “To Pimp A Butterfly,” which released in early 2015. None of

Read more

Album Review: Say Anything’s “I Don’t Think It Is”

Jessica Pellegrino – General Assignment Reporter Without any prior warning or marketing, “Say Anything” released their seventh full-length studio album, called “I Don’t Think It Is.” The follow-up to “Hebrews” was available for streaming through the Equal Vision Record’s Youtube channel. Later that afternoon, the band released the quality MP3s through iTunes for purchase and Spotify and Apple Music for streaming purposes.

Read more

Album Review: ‘Khalifa’

Jessica Pellegrino – General Assignment Reporter Earlier this month, Wiz Khalifa released his sixth full length studio album called “Khalifa.” The album is a follow up to the 2014 release, “Blacc Hollywood.” This album is notable because it is one of the only two of Khalifa’s album in which he is credited for writing most of the tracks. Khalifa’s albums have had

Read more

Album Review: Ty Segall’s “Emotional Mugger”

Taylor Richards – News Writer Ty Segall is lost in a land of nonstop activity of recording and touring that has spanned the last eight years. His latest, and probably weirdest, effort is his new album “Emotional Mugger.” This is his 10th solo studio album since 2008, which doesn’t include singles, EP’s and multiple collaboration albums he’s released within the same time

Read more

Album Review: Brothertiger’s “Out of Touch”

Dylan Haviland – Arts & Entertainment Editor  “Out of Touch,” the third debut album from the pop synth group, “Brothertiger,” is sensitive, technically proficient and human. The album was released on Dec. 4 and features John Jagos on vocals, synth, keyboard and guitar, Jon Markson on vocals, guitar and bass, in addition to Nick Pope on drums and Will Walden on guitar,

Read more
« Older Entries Recent Entries »